Skip to Main Content
Kossuth grant awards

Kossuth County Community Foundation Distributes Over $149,000 to Local Nonprofit Organizations

Kossuth County Community Foundation
March 30, 2022

The Kossuth County Community Foundation (KCCF) held its 2022 grant awards celebration at the Algona Senior Center on March 30, announcing the distribution of $149,678 to 14 projects of organizations serving Kossuth County through its 2022 grant cycle.

“The Kossuth County Community Foundation is proud to support these projects, to make a difference in Kossuth County. This year we made several larger grant awards with the intent of creating greater impacts on the organizations and in those communities,” said Julie Murphy, co-chair of the KCCF governing committee.

The grant recipient organizations, project each grant will fund, and grant amounts are listed below by funding area.

Arts & Culture

  • City of Titonka, Library – Titonka Heritage Oral History, $1,645
  • Kossuth County Historical Society, Historical Museum Flooring, $7,500

Community Betterment

  • City of Algona, Fire Department – SCBA Replacement, $9,375
  • City of Fenton, Library – Safety and Accessibility for All Patrons, $9,200
  • City of Whittemore, Fire Department – New Tanker Firetruck, $30,000
  • City of Whittemore, Swimming Pool Shade Shelter, $16,500

Education & Youth Development

  • Algona Community School District, Bryant Elementary Playground, $18,606
  • Bancroft Daycare, Updating Infant Room, $3,000

Environment & Animal Welfare

  • Water’s Edge Nature Center Foundation, Recreational Water Package, $3,000


  • Active Senior Citizens of Algona, Exterior Painting of Algona Senior Center, $5,000
  • City of Algona, EMS – Ambulance, Power Load Cot and Mount, $15,552
  • City of Fenton, EMS – Zoll Monitor for Sentral Area Ambulance, $15,000
  • Kossuth Emergency Preparedness Team, First Responder Tactical Bags & Stop the Bleed Training Kits, $7,800

Human Service

  • Food Bank of Iowa, Feeding Kossuth County, $7,500

Decisions on grant awards are determined by a local committee, which consists of volunteers from Kossuth County. Committee members include: Caleb Anderson, Brad Arndorfer, Cynthia Arndorfer, Pat Berte, Trudy Blome, Louie Bormann, Kristie Brown (ex-officio), Shannon Goche (ex-officio), Derald Goetz, Eric Goodman, Laurie Harms (co-chair), Deb Kenne, Brian Kollasch, Al Miller, Julie Murphy (co-chair) and Greg Stewart.

Grants are awarded through KCCF’s competitive grant process to projects in the program areas of arts and culture, community betterment, education and youth development, environment and animal welfare, health and human service. Grant applicants must be a 501(c)(3) designated organization or government entity serving Kossuth County in order to be considered for funding. The 2023 grant cycle opens November 1, 2022, with an application deadline of January 15, 2023. The grant guidelines and application can be found at

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook