Skip to Main Content
Fayette grant recipients web

Fayette County Community Foundation Distributes Over $146,000 to Local Nonprofit Organizations

Fayette County Community Foundation
March 30, 2023

The Fayette County Community Foundation (FCCF) held its 2023 grant awards celebration at the Waucoma Event Center on March 29, announcing the distribution of $146,235.41 to 18 projects of organizations serving Fayette County through its 2023 grant cycle.

“The Fayette County Community Foundation is honored to provide grant funding to these organizations in support of the work they are doing throughout Fayette County to better communities for all,” said Rich Scheffel, chair of the FCCF committee.

Grant recipient organization, project the grant will fund and grant amount is listed below by funding area.

Arts & Culture

  • City of Oelwein, Library - Outdoor Musical Instrument Garden, $6,627
  • Larrabee School Foundation, Larrabee School Storm Window Restoration, $10,000
  • Oelwein Event Corp, Oelwein Event Center, $10,000
  • St. Lucas Historical Society, German American Museum Roof Restoration, $10,000
  • Williams Center, Sound and Video Equipment Upgrades, $10,000

Community Betterment

  • City of Waucoma, Waucoma Fire Department - Turnout Gear, $10,000
  • Hawkeye Fire and Rescue Association, New Fire Station, $10,000
  • Oelwein Chamber and Area Development, Oelwein Sesquicentennial Celebration, $5,000

Education & Youth Development

  • Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois, Girl Scout Leadership Program in Fayette County, $2,000

Environment & Animal Welfare

  • Otter Creek Animal Shelter, Cat Condos for Expansion, $9,800
  • UERPC Housing, Lead Professional Certification in Fayette County, $6,657.41


  • Elgin Emergency Medical Services, Elgin EMS Equipment, $4,030
  • Friends of CMH Foundation, Bladder Scanner, $4,121
  • RISE, Ltd., Frederick House Replacement, $10,000
  • SEMS Ambulance, Recertified ZOLL Monitors, $10,000

Human Service

  • Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging, Fayette County Congregate and Home Delivered Meals Program, $10,000
  • Oelwein Area Council of Churches, Oelwein Area Community Kitchen Cupboard Food Supplement, $8,000
  • Plentiful Pantry, Plentiful Pantry Capital Project, $10,000

Decisions on grant awards are determined by a local committee, which consists of volunteers from Fayette County. Committee members include Robin Bostrom, Janell Bradley, Erica Bushaw, Susan Franzen, Ken Hemesath, Pat Hunsberger, Rita Losh, Bradley Minger, Rich Scheffel (chair), and Jami Tafolla.

Grants are awarded through FCCF’s competitive grant process to projects in the program areas of arts and culture, community betterment, education and youth development, environment and animal welfare, health, and human service. Grant applicants must be a 501(c)(3) designated organization or government entity serving Fayette County in order to be considered for funding.

Additional information about the Fayette County Community Foundation can be found at

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook