Skip to Main Content

Fayette County Community Foundation Distributes $98,157 to Local Nonprofit Organizations

Fayette County Community Foundation
March 25, 2021

Watch the video above to hear from Richard Scheffel, 2021 Chair of the Fayette County Community Foundation, about the grant-funded projects.

The Fayette County Community Foundation (FCCF) has granted $98,157 to 15 projects of organizations serving Fayette County through its 2021 grant cycle.

“The Fayette County Community Foundation is proud to be able to support these projects and we thank our nonprofit partners for their work in making our communities a better place for everyone,” said Richard Scheffel, chair of the FCCF governing committee.

Grant recipient organization, project the grant will fund, and grant amount are listed below by funding areas.

Arts & Culture

  • Williams Center, Installation of Ramp and Sealing Existing Stage Floor, $5,448

Community Betterment

  • City of Arlington, Library – Improvements, $7,350
  • City of Clermont, Safe and Healthy Recreation in Clermont, $7,290
  • City of Elgin, Fire Department - SCBA Replacement, $10,000
  • City of Waucoma, Fire Department - Extrication Tool Replacement/Upgrade, $10,000
  • Friends of the Elgin Public Library, Remembering the Past, Looking to the Future, $2,283
  • Rural Iowa Amateur Radio Club, Fayette County Amateur Radio Communications Support Trailer, $6,000
  • West Union Volunteer Firefighters, Personal Protective Gear and Scene Lighting LED Upgrade, $5,180

Environment & Animal Welfare

  • Turkey River Recreational Corridor, Experience Hub Kiosk, $8,954


  • Friends of CMH Foundation, Community Memorial Hospital - Skytron Warming Cabinet, $1,615
  • Westgate Fire & Rescue, Power Cot Purchase Grant, $10,000

Human Service

  • Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging, Fayette County Congregate and Home Delivered Meals Program, $5,037
  • Oelwein Area Council of Churches, Oelwein Area Community Kitchen Cupboard - Food Supplement and Baby Program, $4,000
  • Open Hands Food Pantry, Food and Resources in the North Fayette Valley, $5,000
  • Starmont Community School District, Starmont Daycare - Playground Construction, $10,000

Decisions on grant awards are determined by a local committee, which consists of volunteers from Fayette County. Committee members include: Janell Bradley, Erica Bushaw, Bill Clark, Susan Franzen (vice chair), Ken Hemesath, Rita Losh, Dr. Rich Patrick, Vicki Rowland, Richard Scheffel (chair), Barb Schoenjahn and Jami Tafolla.

Grants are awarded through FCCF’s competitive grant process to projects in the program areas of: arts and culture, community betterment, education and youth development, environment and animal welfare, health and human service. Grant applicants must be a 501(c)(3) designated organization or government entity serving Fayette County in order to be considered for funding. The 2022 grant cycle opens September 15 with an application deadline of December 31, 2021. The grant guidelines and application can be found at

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook