Skip to Main Content

Fayette County Community Foundation Distributes $141,570 to Local Nonprofit Organizations

Fayette County Community Foundation
January 10, 2024

The Fayette County Community Foundation (FCCF) announced the distribution of $141,750.50 to 20 projects of organizations serving Fayette County through its 2023 grant cycle. 

“We are fortunate to have these organizations that strive to better our Fayette County communities, and the Fayette County Community Foundation is proud to support each of them,” said Rich Scheffel, chair of the FCCF governing committee. 

Grant recipient, organization, project the grant will fund, and grant amount is listed below by funding area. 

Arts & Culture: 

  • City of West Union, Environmental Art-Scaping Pavilion - $10,000 
  • Elgin Historical Society, Tribes of the Turkey River: Lift to the 2nd Floor - $10,000 
  • Fayette Chamber of Commerce, Fayette Freedom Rock Enhancements - $10,000 
  • Northeast Iowa RC&D – Bringing Bob the Byway Bus to Life – $5,000 
  • The Grand Theatre of Oelwein – Furnace and Restroom Fixture Replacements - $8,206

Community Betterment: 

  • City of Arlington, City Park Playground Equipment - $10,000 
  • City of Elgin, ECBC, Pickleball Courts & Elgin Art - $5,700 
  • City of Maynard, City Park Playground - $10,000 
  • City of Oelwein, Aquatic Center Lounge Chairs - $3,311.50 
  • City of Waucoma, Ballpark - $10,000 
  • Clermont Community Club, Clermont Celebrates 175 Years! - $2,500 
  • Friends of the Elgin Public Library, Updates to the Library Building - $9,794 
  • West Union Volunteer Firefighters, Brush Unit - $7,000 

 Education & Youth Development: 

  • Iowa College Access Network, High School Preparedness and Financial Aid Access - $2,000 
  • North Fayette Valley Community Coalition, Increasing Youth Center Capacity at NFVCC - $2,559 

 Human Service 

  • Fayette County Food Shelf, Keeping Our Cool - $10,000 
  • Friends of the Family, Ending Homelessness in Fayette County - $6,500 
  • Northeast Iowa Community Action, Fayette County Crisis Assistance Program - $10,000 
  • Northeast Iowa Food Bank, Feeding Families - $3,500 
  • Riverview Center, Inc., Fayette County Crisis Response Toolkit - $5,500 

Decisions on grant awards are determined by a local committee, which consists of volunteers from Fayette County. Committee members include Rich Scheffel (chair) Robin Bostrom, Janell Bradley, Erica Bushaw, Ken Hemesath, Pat Hunsberger, Rita Losh, Bradley Minger, and Jamie Tafolla.  

Grants are awarded through FCCF’s competitive grant process to projects in the program areas of arts and culture, community betterment, education and youth development, environment and animal welfare, health and human service. Grant applicants must be a 501(c)(3) designated organization or government entity serving Fayette County in order to be considered for funding. The 2024 grant cycle opens September 1 with an application deadline of October 15. The grant guidelines and application can be found at  

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook