Skip to Main Content

CFNEIA Elects Officers and New Members to Board of Directors

January 15, 2021

The Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa has elected officers and new members to its board of directors for 2021.

Pat Monat, president of Monat Wealth Management, has been elected to serve as board chairperson for 2021, replacing Scott Sernett, CEO and founder of Sernett Wealth Management, who will serve as past chair. Other officers are Jeff Seamans, Johnson & Johnson, of Waterloo, (vice chair); Ken Cutts, community volunteer, of Cedar Falls (secretary;) and Todd Henningsen, BerganKDV, of Cedar Falls, (treasurer). Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa President and CEO, Kaye Englin, is also an elected officer of the board of directors.

Newly elected board members are Dr. Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye, Black Hawk County public health director, of Cedar Falls; Will Frost, director of talent development with Grow Cedar Valley, of Waterloo; and Brooke Trent, attorney at Trent Law Firm, PLLC, of Cedar Falls. Members are elected to three-year terms. 

“I am extremely pleased to welcome Nafissa, Will, and Brooke as new board members,” said Englin. “They each bring a wealth of experience, expertise, enthusiasm, and most importantly, a passion for serving all people in our communities. Their presence on the CFNEIA board of directors will strengthen our organizational leadership and propel our mission.”

Other returning board members include Henry Bevel III, Swisher & Cohrt PLC, of Waterloo; Gene Leonhart, Cardinal Construction (retired), of Denver; Doug Lindaman, US Feeds (retired), of Ackley; Mark Miller, Arthur L. Davis Publishing Agency Inc. (retired), of Cedar Falls; Susan Sims, community volunteer, of Cedar Falls; Scott Thomson, CUSB Bank, of Cresco; and ReShonda Young, Black Business Entrepreneurship Accelerator, of Waterloo. Outgoing board members include Stacie Brass, The Accel Group, of Cedar Falls; Jeff Hassman, CVP Advisors, of Cedar Falls; and Helen Schumacher, Schumacher Elevator Company, of Denver.

“Our departing board members have provided incredible leadership and have shown dedication and commitment to the communities we serve,” said Englin. “The Community Foundation is stronger because of their guidance.”

The nonprofit’s board members are selected for demonstrating a high level of commitment to the organization’s 20-county region and personal involvement in community engagement. The board of directors oversees strategic planning, policy and is responsible for stewardship of over $119 million in assets. 

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook